It’s 5pm, shop is close!! It’s weekend, we are close too!!

I will always remember the first shop I went 2 years ago. It was a small Wibra shop along Amsterdamsestraatweg, Utrecht. It was 4.45pm when I went there, and I was looking for some stuff in the shop until 5pm. Being a non-dutch speaker at that time, I didn’t know that they were giving an announcement that the shop is closing. So I’m still being me, an Asian girl who shop like mad.

Suddenly a Dutch lady stood in front of me and said, “Mevrouw, it’s 5pm. Shop is close.”

“Really?.”

 Yeah, like really??. Do you want me out of the shop? Don’t you know I’m a customer and I can spend money in this shop and you can make a profit? Well, who cares. They just want you out of the shop at 5pm. That’s all.

It’s weird for me because back then in Malaysia, shops are open until 10pm. Even they open until 10pm (as stated in front of the shops door), they will wait for you to choose the stuff you want and never ask you to leave the shop.

How do Dutch make profit?? Seriously! Why open the shops on weekdays only when a lot of people go to work during the weekdays, and why from 10am until 5pm when working hour is also at the same time? Similarly, why closing the shops during the weekends?

Well I guess this is their lifestyle. Somehow I manage somehow to survive with it.

But thank god, Albert heijn opens until 9pm!!


Leave a Reply

